Home Asia

Voting begins in the seventh round of assembly elections in West Bengal, India


Voting for the seventh phase of the West Bengal state assembly elections began on Monday amid a massive coronavirus outbreak across India. Voting started at 7 am that day. In this phase, voting was held in 36 centers, but due to the death of the candidate, polling will be held on May 16 in Samsherganj and Jangipur of Murshidabad.

A total of 796 companies are deployed in the security of 34 centers in South Dinajpur, Malda, Murshidabad, West Burdwan and South Kolkata. Of these, only 653 companies will be in the security of the booth. Authorities say voters are voting according to hygiene rules.

Today in the seventh phase of the state Kushmondi, Kumarganj, Balurghat, Tapan, Gangarampur, Harirampur, Habibpur, Gazol, Chanchal, Harishchandrapur, Maltipur, Ratua, Farakka, Suti, Raghunathganj, Sagardighi, Lalgola, Rangbagand, Bhagwangado , Rasbihari, Baliganj, Pandabeshwar, Durgapur East, Durgapur West, Raniganj, Jamuria, Asansol South, Asansol North, Kulti, Barabani constituencies are scheduled to go to polls on Monday.

Citing the Election Commission, Anandabazar reported that 154 companies were deployed in Asansol-Durgapur, 108 in South Dinajpur, 102 in Jangipur and 102 in Murshidabad on Monday. There are 63 companies deployed in 4 constituencies south of Kolkata and 122 companies in Malda district. Like the sixth point, there are more than six hundred and fifty sector offices in Monday’s polls. Each sector office will have a SI or ASI rank police officer in charge. There will be four constables.

According to the data provided by the Union Ministry of Health of India on Sunday, the number of daily corona cases in the state is 15,889. With this, the total number of corona affected in the state is seven lakh 43 thousand 950 and 57 people died in one day in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here